A Word With….Julez DeCosta, Founder and Designer of Julez Bryant Fine Jewelry

Every once in a while you meet someone with whom you just “click”.  From your first conversation, you feel at ease and know that a great friendship is forming. This was exactly how I felt when I first met Julez DeCosta at a WJA Event in San Diego a few months back.  Fast forward to present day and I am thrilled to call Julez a friend and mentor.  As a fellow jewelry designer, business owner, and mother she has a offered me some amazing advice about finding balance between business and family as well as a peek into her life. I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I enjoyed interviewing her!

JulezBName: Julez DeCosta

Occupation: Designer and Founder of Julez Bryant

How would you describe your style: Eclectic

How would you describe your jewelry Style: Feminine Architecture

Where do you find inspiration? My inspiration comes from the findings on building, alleyways, shipyards. And there’s also a mix that comes from the coast, a coastal element to my work.

Favorite piece of jewelry: The necklace and bracelet my children gave me.

Style Icons: Isabel Marant, Chanel (not necessarily from a style perspective but how she forged a new territory) and James Perse

One thing you never leave home without: The necklace and bracelet my son and daughter gave me.

Favorite Vacation Destination/Favorite place to travel: Madrid is my favorite city. Actually any city for me… but I love Dublin, Paris, Madrid. And I really liked Costa Rica.

What are listening to right now? Damien Rice is my favorite right now.  And I am also listening to Hozier.

Latest splurge: My yoga retreat in Costa Rica because I don’t often do stuff just for myself.

Best jewelry advice: As a jewelry designer, be confident and charge correctly. Never ship late and don’t let people owe you money.

Best life advice: I’m a pretty grounded person so I really like the life I have and want to get the most possible out this life. Its about noticing the small things in your life; accept where you are at now and give back, definitely give back!

How would your childhood friends describe you? Goofy, loyal and driven.

What is better about the world today than when you were growing up? We have access to more information.

If you could instantly have one new skill (i.e. foreign language, musical talent, public speaking, etc.), what would it be?  I have always loved music so singing or dancing.

My guilty pleasure: Netflix. I’m watching and loving the show, The Collection.

Describe yourself in five words or less: Grateful, Chaotic, Artistic, Business-minded, Optimistic

What is your favorite quote, phrase, or mantra, and why?  My favorite one is one that I share with my children all the time… ILUAMATSATO, which means I love you as much as sky and as deep as the ocean.

If you could go back in time and give yourself a piece of advice from the future, what would it be? Listen to my gut. It didn’t lie but I didn’t listen.

What are you most proud of? The circle of people in my life.

What’s the best gift you’ve ever received?  My children.

What is the most rewarding part of your life? The most rewarding part of my life is Julez Bryant. I get to do the thing I love, with the people I care about the most. I just completed a huge branding platform exercise that made a huge impact on my life both personally and professionally.  It reaffirmed my values and it made me reflect on my life and my business for the past 15 years. It helped to clarify things; who I am, where I am going.  I want to see how far I can take Julez Bryant, and to challenge myself.

Leave a Reply

